RSS

For He is the Caretaker of our souls, the Manager of our hearts.

03 Feb

In the name of Allah Almighty.

 

[The following is a short story, hastily conjectured from the recesses of my imagination. The whole situation and characters were purposely made anonymous – so place whoever you may please in the positions of the characters, and place them in any setting you want. Go ahead and experiment with different situations and people. You might fall into interestingly contrasting conclusions at the end of each experiment. Enjoy!]

 

“I made this for you,” she whispered. Our eyes met for a moment, then I cast my gaze on the object clasped in her fingers. Delicate and thin – but with the grip of an eagle, I thought.
I risked another glance at her sullen face, indeed I saw every trait of the eagle in her: the flash of its mighty wings and intimidating eyes, the brooding stance it maintains with the curve of its neck – all of it, combined and ossified into the picture that was her; pale, intimidating, alone.

 

“you wouldn’t let me take it”, I replied, and attempted to turn up the corners of my lips in an indistinguishable smile. I wagered to uplift the mood for a moment, then thought better of it; every move I made around her was a gamble between life and death. The air hung, still, as if it too were in suspense. The anticipation amplified the silence around us, and the inaudible beating of our hearts suddenly became the only thing we could hear. They beat as one. Lub dub, lub dub. The beat was hypnotizing.

 

Her lips parted. “Hypocrite!” she cried. “the words you put in my mouth – those words alone! They are enough to corrupt your bones. The lies that pour forth from your lips – you think you can render me subservient to your whims!” the anger in her voice coupled with a deathly stare, with the full intention of setting daggers in my heart. My own voice quavered upon the impact. “yet to shun you is to throw my life away”, I tell her. Oh delicate, delicate love. Had you been the flower that carries no poison you would be naught. You would be like every other flower I’ve tasted in the field. Nay, you will be mine. You are mine.

 

“lies!” her voice was an innuendo of a broken heart. Her tone was reaching a crescendo of sorts. “you lie! You lie! You are nothing but lies!” at this point my own heart began to break in desperation. “how can I declare a lie if I have never known the truth?” my voice began to match hers. A mistake. Her eyes were bright with tears, and I knew she was fashioning an escape before I could continue. I flew to embrace her. Love, love. We were one since the beginning. Don’t leave me, not now. Won’t you like to end the way we began?

 

Alas, what is flight when the eagle has flown? What is love when life has ceased?

 

I found myself pressed against the glass, cold and withered. The object she left me crushed in my grip. Every atom in me refused to give up – I relentlessly pushed, still. This was the glass through which I once saw everything. Now, I see nothing.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Rants, Spirituality

 

Leave a Reply

 
