RSS

What we seek;

16 Jan

Bismillahirrahmaanirrahim.

“Oh Allah,

I seek Your Counsel by Your Knowledge,

And I ask You from Your Immense Favour,

For Verily You are able while I am not,

And verily You know while I do not,

and You are the Knower of the unseen.

Oh Allah,

If You know this affair to be good for me

In my relation to my religion, my life, and end,

Then decree and facilitate it for me,

And bless me with it.

And if You know this affair to be ill for me

Towards my religion, my life, and end,

Then remove it from me and remove me from it,

And decree for me what is good wherever it be,

And decree for me what is good wherever it be,

And decree for me what is good… wherever it be,

And make me satisfied with such.”

Ameen.

This is the English translation of the Dua Al Istikharah ; which means The supplication to seek what is good. This is recited after the Istikharah prayer, which is a non-obligatory prayer that we perform when we are faced with tough decisions, stress, and such. I think many of us are familiar with it (: i obtained this translation from http://bit.ly/dNi91D – Mishary recites the Dua so beautifully here.

Don’t stop asking for Allah’s guidance – we need it more than anything.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 16, 2011 in Arabic, Fiqh, Hadith, Ramadan, Spirituality, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
