RSS

A Collage of Sorts

21 Dec

“That to thy Lord is your Goal” [53:42]

A verse to bear in mind in all we do, all the time. To Allah is your Goal, to Allah is your Goal, to Allah is your Goal.

Today by Allah’s mercy I learnt why and how ablution helps when one is in frustration. Of course the sound of water and its cooling physical touch has a sort of calming effect, but this time there were a few steps I took, mentally, to further enhance the whole experience of wudhu’. Label it whatever you like, I am not saying what works for me will work on others too. But inshaAllah we’ll benefit one way or another from my sharing of this experience, I hope.

When I performed wudhu’ for ‘Asr prayers today I was, as you can guess, in a slight form of frustration and unrest at heart. As the norm would be when one is in this state I had garnered some not-so-nice thoughts about some things. I guessed it wouldn’t be a good thing to bring into prayers so I sincerely hoped to ‘wash away’ these thoughts through ablution.

As I rinsed my mouth I thought of the inappropriate and non-beneficial words that I’ve uttered earlier.

As I washed my face and forehead I thought of the unnecessary feelings that ran through my mind earlier,

The things I’ve seen that day which were better off unremembered.

As I washed my arms I thought of my actions that might have been displeasing to Allah swt.

And it went on that way, thinking of sins I hoped to be washed away by the water. A small sense of calm ensued afterwards and Alhamdulillah I am thankful for that. Perhaps we could utilize Wudhu’ for constant muhasabah, which is the recollecting and pondering of your previous actions, 5 times a day. Perhaps it could even help quell certain habits when we realize we’ve been hoping to ‘wash away’ the same thing every time. Perhaps. I have yet to try that out.

and i hope it works, by Allah’s will. Ameen 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “A Collage of Sorts

  1. suhaylsalpai

    December 24, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Alhamdulillah 🙂

    Indeed wudhuk does cleanse not only your body parts, but what’s inside them as well, or whats inside your heart.

    Dr Waffie also told me that when you perform wudhuk, and at times, you just cant get something off your mind (well especially for guys maybe)…recite “Astaghfirullah hal’adzim” as you wash each part of your body. InsyaAllah He will help to relief you of your problems, and forgive you of your sins, unwishful thoughts and desires.

    Wudhuk is but just 1 of the many ways to maintain purity at heart 🙂 May we always have purity in our hearts and mind. Let us wash away our nafs and let our souls SHINE from within 😀 Just like how Nabi s.a.w’s soul shined brighter than the moon itself 🙂

    May Allah bless you, guide you, and protect you from any dangers whatsoever, keeping your soul clean & pure, just as how Allah has given it to us 🙂

    Wa’alaikum salam wrt wb sister~

     

Leave a Reply

 
